Proprietary DEVBOARD

Sysprogs forums Forums VisualGDB Proprietary DEVBOARD

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    hfrmobile
    Participant

I am new to VisualGDB (currently evaluating it for our project). I tested it with a simple Linux app (Ubuntu on a virtual machine) and everything works fine with that.

But I am confronted with following  situation:

1. Target hardware: i.MX28 CPU, USB, TFT display, LAN, … running Embedded Linux
    2. “Customized toolchain” designed to run on a Unix machine, so I setup a Ubuntu virtual machine
    3. Need a working development environment under Windows 10 (that’s why I landed on VisualGDB)

So, the Ubuntu box is simply a build/debug host for me.

I am able to establish a SSH connection to target device and everything works so far as long I use the Ubuntu development envirnonment (Eclipse Luna). The “toolchain” contains lot of bash scripts for doing stuff like compiling, starting the Eclipse IDE.

But I like to use Visual Studio and VisualGDB as my primary development environment.

I learned that I can’t use the “Embedded Project Wizard” since it offers templates for lot of boards, but our board is not listed of course, since it is handmade by our hardware vendor. So I have to do the “Custom Project Wizard”.

Deploying the sources from Windows to the Ubuntu machine is easy:

Custom Build Steps / “Before Building”

• “Send files to remote computer” (sources, scripts, …) – OK
    • “Run a custom command line” (“. INIT.sh”) – OK (initialized the “hand-made-properitary toolchain by hardware vendor”)

But now I want to start the build on the Ubuntu machine: