VisualGDB noob having no success with any debugging method on ESP8266

Sysprogs forums Forums VisualGDB VisualGDB noob having no success with any debugging method on ESP8266

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    nathanwiebe
    Participant

I believe there is massive potential in the VisualGDB tools.  I am very open to replacing our current dev tools for both ARM and ESP8266 across our organization, but I am having a bit of a bumpy start.  I am brand new to the VisualGDB platform, and to tools like OpenOCD and GDB in general.  I have a few projects under my belt on the ESP8266 – I have worked with a number of different boards, using NodeMCU and Arduino platforms.  Using VisualGDB, I have not been successful at getting any method of in-circuit debugging going on the ESP, and I would love to know if there is something obvious I am doing wrong.

My platform is Windows 10 Pro, Visual Studio 2015, and I am using the latest version of VisualGDB downloaded this weekend.  I am using an ESP-12E module on a NodeMCU v2 board, with FLASH size and configuration known to work with the VisualGDB defaults for my particular ESP module variant (40MHz/QIO/4M – matching the Arduino settings I use).

Here is what I’ve tried:

1. I followed the UART GDB Stub tutorial verbatim.  The device programs (LED blinking normally during programming), but all GDB commands afterwards seem to time out (e.g. “target remote \\.\COM3”, “-exec-continue”, etc).  I will attach the GDB log in a comment below for inspection.  The log seems to suggest the GDB quit unexpectedly, so I really don’t know where to start in troubleshooting that one.
    2. I followed the “Debugging ESP8266 code with OpenOCD and Visual Studio” tutorial verbatim.  I tried 2 different working J-Links, with the same result.
      1. Initially, I got a “Error: libusb_open() failed with LIBUSB_ERROR_NOT_SUPPORTED” error.  Based on some googling, it seemed that I should use the libusb driver.