New user impressions, platformio, and color scheme

Sysprogs forums Forums VisualGDB New user impressions, platformio, and color scheme

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    hak8or
    Participant

I have been dabbling with micro controllers for a few years now, jumping back and forth from IDE’s like TI’s Code Composer Studio and Atmel Studio, and manually using makefiles, Sublime Text, and command line tools. Every now and then I get frustrated as an IDE misses some feature I had when using command line, or vice versa, and try a new development environment. I started looking if I could somehow do my embedded work using Visual Studio and stumbled upon Visual Micro, but that fell short of my expectations partly due to me wanting to use it when working with chips that there is no Arduino support for, such as the STM32. I will still probably get it for myself since $30 as a student for it feels small enough to risk for trying it out long term. Then I found platformIO which seems flat out amazing, and I was able to have a LED blinking using Visual Studio for writing code and flashing the chip in just a few minutes. Sadly though, platformio does not have any debugging functionality built in.