Help using toolchain on custom hardware.

Sysprogs forums Forums Other tools & products Help using toolchain on custom hardware.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    kkeeley
    Participant

Hi,

I have been building my own hardware using a 68000 CPU for many years and have always written my code in assembly. I have recently decided that it would be good to finally start writing my programs in a higher language like C and after a lot of problems building the GNU toolchain I found/downloaded and installed the “Prebuilt GNU toolchain for m68k-elf” from this site. The first trials I did was to convert some of my existing assembly code to work with this assembler and then tested the output on both my emulated environment and my hardware, the results where successful and promising. Next step is to get C code compiling correctly for my environment and this is where I’m not getting the results I’m looking for.

The problem I’m having is that the compiler appears to be trying to use prebuilt libraries and this causes the code to either fail to compile or the code won’t run correctly for my system when I run the code in my emulated environment.

Can anybody provide me examples of the command options to use for gcc/as/ld to prevent them from using any prebuilt libraries and only use the files I provide the source for or to at least compile correctly for my hardware.

I have tried options like these but I’m still not getting the results I’m after.
    GCC FLAGS = -nostdinc -nostdlib -nodefaultlibs -Wall -mc68000 -mpcrel
    LD FLAGS = -s -Os –gc-sections -nostdlib -nodefaultlibs

Thanks
    Kenneth

ket
    Participant

Hi,

Those flags should normally avoid using any not explicitly specified libraries. It is hard to say more without even seeing a single error message you are having.
    Of course another thing to remember with cross-compilation is that the shared libraries used for building and running are not necessarily the same.

kkeeley