ESP32 VGDB compared to PlatromIO

Sysprogs forums Forums VisualGDB ESP32 VGDB compared to PlatromIO

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    mikemoy
    Participant

I have been using VisualGDB for a few years now on the Embeded Linux platforms. It is by far the best thing since sliced bread for that. Its simply awesome.

Having said that, its also one of the worst for the ESP32. I created a video to show the just some of the issues compared to a free IDE like PlatformIO.

Video Comparison

support
    Keymaster

Hi,

Thanks for uploading the video and sharing your concerns. We will try to explain what is going on.

Unlike many conventional ARM-based devices that are supported through our optimized MSBuild backend and a collection of tested BSP packages, the Advanced ESP32 projects are built directly by the ESP-IDF framework (official ESP32 SDK by Espressif). We decided to handle the ESP32 platform this way in order to accommodate the rapid release cycle of the ESP-IDF that often releases updates introducing new features, large structural changes and breaking backward compatibility.

I.e. instead of an optimized VisualGDB package based on a specific version of ESP-IDF (that would get obsoleted very quickly), VisualGDB can run on top of any recent ESP-IDF release of your choice and produce exactly the same results as meant by Espressif. It will inherit the original ESP-IDF build system and the configuration settings.

PlatformIO likely uses a different approach – includes a subset of ESP-IDF with its own build subsystem that is faster and requires less configuration settings, but is not equivalent to the latest ESP-IDF framework. Hence most of the differences you mentioned are rather the differences between ESP-IDF (full-scale ESP32 SDK) and PlatformIO (a lightweight SDK for smaller projects) and are not actually related to VisualGDB itself.