feedback on mbed project (compared to embedded)

Sysprogs forums Forums VisualGDB feedback on mbed project (compared to embedded)

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    CrzyRndm
    Participant

I have been using the embedded VisualGDB project + mbed for about 2 years, over 5-6 projects. Got some time to start exploring the new mbed project today and a few things stuck out. First off: the addition of the mbed project wizard is a nice step forward in that it uses a standard toolset and makes updating GCC/mbed library versions significantly easier.

Currently, the mbed project is missing some features compared to the embedded project. Most notably for me is the embedded memory explorer isn’t associating to files and the ability to have multiple build profiles (Debug/Release/etc.) without changing the build settings. Are there plans to bring feature parity to the mbed project?

Some additional features to round off some of the rough edges in the project setup:

• The check boxes to enable/disable features and only showing the enabled options in the embedded project are far superior to the enourmous list of configuration options in the mbed project (the easiest way to disable features I’ve found is adding directories to the .mbedignore file)
    • Setting the compiler options (e.g. optimisation, c++ standard) took me a little while to work out (mbed cli args: “–profile ./profile_debug.json”). This is going to be needed in almost every project, so a “build settings” like tab in the project properties would be much appreciated
    • This topic was modified 5 years, 1 month ago by CrzyRndm.
    CrzyRndm
    Participant

I also can’t figure out how to fully set the C++ standard version for the intellisense engine. Defining -std=c++14/17 as an extra flag in the intellisense enables constexpr and friends, but still leaves “__cplusplus == 199711L” (C++98) which makes std::string_view and other library types show errors.

support
    Keymaster