google-play-services

Sysprogs forums Forums VisualGDB google-play-services

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    rgold
    Participant

I am still new at Android development and have been primarily using visualGDB. I am trying to get google play into my app, but have been running into issues.
    I was wondering if VisualGDB has any formal way of including external .jar files, like inlcude paths, or if I should be modifying the .mk directly.

I ended up copying the jar file (google-play-services.jar ) directly into my libs folder, and that is allowing everything compile, but when I run I’m getting these types of errors:

W/dalvikvm(16897): VFY: unable to find class referenced in signature (Landroid/support/v4/app/Fragment;)
    W/dalvikvm(16897): VFY: unable to resolve static field 469 (common_google_play_services_install_title) in Lcom/google/android/gms/R$string;

when I call this from my activity.
    GooglePlayServicesUtil.isGooglePlayServicesAvailable(this.getApplicationContext());

Does anyone have any ideas what I’m doing wrong?

rgold
    Participant

One current lead I have was a post about a different topic, but stated:

“… must be included as Android library projects rather than as jar files. This allows for the resources used in the library to be added to the resources of the main project.”

I was looking at my errors on the device which was different from the emulator:
    VFY: unable to find class referenced in signature (Landroid/support/v4/app/Fragment;)
    Could not find method android.app.AlertDialog$Builder., referenced from method com.google.android.gms.common.GooglePlayServicesUtil.a

So, I think it comes down to how I am including the googl-play-services library as just a JAR file. In VisualGDB is there a formal way to go about adding an external android library?

ket
    Participant

Hi,