What is the official/recommended method for installing the latest EPS toolchain

Sysprogs forums Forums VisualGDB What is the official/recommended method for installing the latest EPS toolchain

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    jmiramonti
    Participant

HI,

I’ve been using VisualGDB for about 18 months with the ESP32-C3.

I’m now starting to work with the ESP32-C6, but still support some previously released code.

This requires me to pivot back and forth between the Espressif 5.0, 5.1 and 5.2 SDK and toolchains (different GCC compiler versions).

I’m trying to implement the “Side by Side” toolchain configuration for the Espressif EPS32-C3 toolchains.

Switching between SDKs is straightforward (you either let it ‘step on’ the existing SDK and wait awhile or you install them indifferent subdirectories to save time).

However switching between toolchains doesn’t seem to match the published documentation, nor does the ‘search for gdb.exe’ seem to work properly.

The only thing that does seem to work is manually copying certain files from an Espressif download and manually editing toolchain.xml.

Is there a better, more official/recommended way of doing this? (E.g. install the latest Espressif toolchain into VGDB?)

jmiramonti
    Participant

HI,

I’ve been using VisualGDB for about 18 months with the ESP32-C3.

I’m now starting to work with the ESP32-C6, but still support some previously released code.

This requires me to pivot back and forth between the Espressif 5.0, 5.1 and 5.2 SDK and toolchains (different GCC compiler versions).

I’m trying to implement the “Side by Side” toolchain configuration for the Espressif EPS32-C3 toolchains.

Switching between SDKs is straightforward (you either let it ‘step on’ the existing SDK and wait awhile or you install them indifferent subdirectories to save time).