Link with externalmodule

Sysprogs forums Forums VisualGDB Link with externalmodule

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Alain
    Participant

Hi,

I just loaded the trial version of VisualGDB and have been able to develop very quickly an application on Raspberry written in C++ with VisualStudio 2019. Perfect.
    The problem now:
    Let’s be clear that, coming from Windows, I’m new to Raspeberry, Debian, C++.
    The application must manage MIDI messages on the Raspberry. For that I use RtMIDI which calls Alsa modules. No problem to find the header files of Alsa procedures.
    Obviously I have a problem with the Linker since I get compilation error messages like :
    undefined reference to `snd_midi_event_new”
    knowing that the procedure is referenced without error by:
    int snd_midi_event_new(size_t bufsize, snd_midi_event_t **rdev);
    and the error occurs at the line:
    result = snd_midi_event_new( 0, &apiData->coder);
    I’ve read a lot of things on the Internet without success. Can you help me?
    I am well aware that my level of knowledge in the field is low but it is necessary to start…
    Regards

support
    Keymaster

Hi,

Please follow this tutorial to diagnose common library-related problems.

Alain
    Participant

Hi,

Tough! With NetBeans, it only took me 5′ to make a go with the RtMidi, alsa and pthread libraries.

I just spent several hours with VisualGDB without success despite a thorough analysis of the tutorial.
    The libraries snd_midi_xxx, snd_seq_xxx do not load during synchronizations. They are in /sys/module/xxx.

One of the error messages is : undefined reference to `snd_midi_event_new’ LinuxProject3 C:\Users\Alain\source\repos\LinuxProject3\RtMidi.cpp 1553

I don’t know what to do.
    Alain

support
    Keymaster