Build a DLL or access values from another project

Sysprogs forums Forums VisualGDB Build a DLL or access values from another project

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    djlins
    Participant

Hi there,

Please forgive that I’m a newbie to this, we all have to start somewhere heheh.

I have been using VisualGDB and really get on well with it. I now have an embedded project which when run talks to my nrf51 dongle and registers with a MIDI device and I can see the bytes in the debug COM window.

It has all gone really well. My problem now is I need to use those BYTEs in another C# project.

Because my VisualGDB project doesn’t build a DLL then I cant put in entry points to poll the values, and if I create another project in the same Visual Studio solution then I can’t reference the VisualGDB project.

What is going to be the best way to get the values out of the VisualGDB project so I can use them in a richer C# environment?
    I would rather not use a database as a midpoint to pass values out, and I dont want to go off down the wrong route if there is a standard answer.

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks,

Lindsay.

support
    Keymaster

Whoa, that’s a big one. VisualGDB doesn’t really include any special framework for interfacing your embedded code with higher-level languages, so you would likely need to design one or reuse something like protobuf. Generally, as this is a rather generic programming question, than a VisualGDB-specific issue, we would advise creating a question on StackOverflow – there’s a large developer community there and you may get some good ideas from other developers.

djlins
    Participant

Thank you,

I might be a little wet behind the ears with how this all works, would you be able to explain to me about the following:

I have found out about a c++ function that can send a message to another visual studio program  (using WM_COPYDATA)