BSOD when copying file > 2GB

Sysprogs forums Forums WinCDEmu BSOD when copying file > 2GB

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Participant

I believe I found a bug in WinCDEmu 3.1. I mounted an ISO of Windows 7 and I attempted to copy all the files from the virtual CD to the local hard drive. This caused a blue screen of death. I repeated the test several times, the problem is reproducible and always occurs when copying the file install.wim. The file install.wim is 2,860,840,523 bytes in size. Since this is greater than a signed 32-bit int that is my guess as to the cause of this crash.

I am a computer programmer and since the source code is available I’m planning on having a look. However, I don’t have free time right now and it might be several weeks before I get the chance. So in the meantime I wanted to report the problem.

I’m running WinCDEmu on Windows XP Professional SP3 64-bit edition.

Thanks and keep up the great work!

danielkza
    Participant

I was not able to reproduce the issue in Windows 7 x64 RTM: I copied the exact same file to my hard drive successfully. I can test it in Vista SP2 x86 later if it would help.

BTW, WinCDEmu rocks, I can finally ditch Daemon Tools xD.

Anonymous
    Participant

@danielkza wrote:

I was not able to reproduce the issue in Windows 7 x64 RTM: I copied the exact same file to my hard drive successfully. I can test it in Vista SP2 x86 later if it would help.

danielkza, thanks for trying this. I retested this multiple times on 4 different clean systems, here’s what I found:

WinXP Pro x86 – works
    WinXP Pro x64 – fails
    Win7 Pro x86 – works
    Win7 Pro x64 – works

Figures the OS/architecture I’m running is the one with the problem. 😕