Best practices for including header and source files

Sysprogs forums Forums VisualGDB Best practices for including header and source files

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    GeneM
    Participant

I’m still very new to C/C++ and VisualGDB so a lot of my programs are based on examples from the STM32 examples, the VisualGDB examples and a variety of other sources.  These examples typically include .h and .c files from folders buried in various folders scattered all over the place.  When I build a new project that combines parts from multiple examples, I spend a lot of time hunting down all the .h and .c files I need.

I’ve just starting building 2 generic folders, one called STMHeaders and one called STMSource where I’ve been putting every .h and every .c file I need for any project using ST Micro controllers.  Then I can add these 2 paths to the project Property Pages->C/C++->General->Additional Include Directories option for every VisualGDB project using a STM processor and I should be good.

2 questions:

1. Does this seem like a reasonable approach and if not is there a Best Practice for this?
    2. When I add a file to either of those folders, an open VisualGDB project won’t automatically detect the new file when I build andI get an undefined reference error or file not found error.  How do I make VisualGDB look for new files in my 2 folders every time I build?

Thanks – Gene

support
    Keymaster

Hi,

This is really a generic C++ question and not something specific to VisualGDB, so the amount of help we can provide here is very limited. If you are new to C/C++, we would advise looking up and following a few beginner’s tutorials that explain source and header files. It could save you immense time compared to trying to guess the correct configuration.