Arduino project not using Picoprobe to program flash

Sysprogs forums Forums VisualGDB Arduino project not using Picoprobe to program flash

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    vajoe
    Participant

I’m new to using the picoprobe with visualgdb.  I was able to build a hello world program using the picosdk, then load (program flash) and debug it using the probe.  I then created a hello world program using the Arduino environment.

I set the debugger to be the picoprobe.  From the selection, it appears the system should use the picoprobe to program the flash.  However, when I tell VisualGDB to build and program the flash, it fails to upload the sketch.  This is what’s in the window for the failure:

Run "C:\Users\joe\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\rp2040\tools\pqt-python3\1.0.1-base-3a57aed\python3 -I "C:\Users\joe\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\rp2040\hardware\rp2040\3.4.0/tools/uf2conv.py" --serial "COM17" --family RP2040 --deploy "C:\Users\joe\Documents\GitHub\ArduinoProject2\Output\Raspberry_Pi_Pico\Debug/Multicore.ino.uf2"" in directory "" on local computer
    --------------------------
    Resetting COM17
    Converting to uf2, output size: 140288, start address: 0x2000
    Scanning for RP2040 devices
    No drive to deploy.
    --------------------------
    Command exited with code 1

I would have expected it the command to be an opencd command rather than a python command.  Am I missing a setting.

I’ve a attached a screen shot of  the debug settings.

Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks

• This topic was modified 8 months, 1 week ago by support. Reason: formatting
    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    support
    Keymaster

Hi,

There are 2 ways of programming the FLASH memory for Arduino projects:

• The context menu command in Solution Explorer will use the Arduino-level commands to do it. This is what the log shows.