Evaluating VisualGDB – multiple questions

Sysprogs forums Forums VisualGDB Evaluating VisualGDB – multiple questions

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Margarita
    Participant

Hi – We’re evaluating VisualGDB. Our high-level goals are to:
    – Cross-compile QT5 applications both from within Visual Studio running on Windows for the Raspberry pi and directly on the pi.
    – Debug as necessary from within Visual Studio.
    – Launch application from within Visual Studio, or directly on pi.

I’ve run into a number of different issues – Please excuse the possibly basic nature of some of the questions! I’m new to many aspects of these environments –

1. Is the following tutorial adaptable for use on raspberry pi ? http://visualgdb.com/tutorials/linux/qt5/ – At first it seemed to be – But when I prompted the wizard to install QT5, it failed, with the error message: Unable to locate package qtdeclarative5-dev.

From information, separate from VisualGDB, it seems that QT5 applications are supported on Raspberry pi?

2. Upon completing this tutorial (http://visualgdb.com/tutorials/raspberry/):
    — I wasn’t able to identify name+location of the executable. Where is the executable generated in your Release non-Qt demo located and how does one run it on the pi directly?

— When attempting to run in debug mode (it runs successfully in release mode), the following message appears:
    libc.so.pdb not loaded – contains the debug information requried to find the source for the module lib.so.6
    Original location: /lib/arm-linux-gnueabihf/libc.so.6

Thanks Very much, in advance, for any information you can provide.
    Regards
    Margarita

support
    Keymaster

Hi,

The Raspberry Pi distro does not include Qt5 packages by default. If you download and install them from a third-party source (or build it from scratch), VisualGDB will support it just like it supports it on Ubuntu.